HOME>News>Industry News>Industry News

Categories of Flame Retardants

2015-05-09 08:32 | writer: admin

There are many categories in which flame retardants can be divided. The major categories among them include:
Tetrakis (hydroxymethyl) phosphonium salts that are made by passing phosphine gas through a solution of formaldehyde and a mineral acid like hydrochloric acid. This category is mostly used as flame retardants for textiles.
Minerals like asbestos, compounds such as aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, antimony trioxide different hydrates, red phosphorus, and boron compounds, mostly borates. Etc.
Synthetic materials, usually halocarbons which include organochlorines such as polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), chlorendic acid derivates and chlorinated paraffins; organobromines such as polybrominated diphenyl ether (PBDEs), organophosphates in the form of halogenated phosphorus compounds and others.
To make it more simple, if we talk of the types of flame retardants, they are:
Brominated flame retardants
Chlorinated flame retardants
Phosphorous-containing flame retardants (Phosphate ester such as Tri phenyl phosphate)
Nitrogen-containing flame retardants (i.e. Melamines)
Inorganic flame retardants.
Other method of classifying Flame Retardants is to divide them as Inorganic, Organo Phosphorous, Halogenated organic and Nitrogen based compounds. Halogenated organic flame retardants are further classified as having either Chlorine or Bromine which is popularly known as Brominated .

Recommended Products

Contact Form Go Top